top of page

On The Road

I thought for a change I'd write about Morton, I have been going to games for 18 years, my first Morton game was a 3-0 win away against Clyde on 26th August 2000. I wanted to give you an insight on what an away game is like for a disabled fan. The game I’m covering is Partick Thistle away on the 1st September 2018.

At Cappielow

I love an away game but being a wheelchair user this brings its own unique challenges. In many ways its the same as a non disabled fan but with more planning. The planning starts the week before the game where I contact the host club and Morton to make ticket and parking arrangements. Also I need to let them know I am bringing my back up equipment, I need this as I have a tracheostomy and use a ventilator. Its better to warn them as you get some funny expressions when you arrive with three bags, I don’t travel light! Thistle gave me very detailed information for visiting fans with a disability and I was very impressed. I had arranged everything and was looking forward to the game Then on Friday our former manager left, that made me look forward to the game even more as I wanted to back the team who had been badly treated by this manager.

So game day arrives and myself, my brother David and my Dad set off for the match we arrive at the same time as our Chairman Crawford who we have a brief chat with. We then set off for a drink in the Aitken Suite at the stadium. It was deep under the stadium luckily we had a steward guiding us or we might have got lost! We were made to feel very welcome, we also met Denny Johnstone’s lovely family. During our stay Thistle’s Disability Access Officer came to see me to make sure I got parked ok and if everything was going ok, which was a nice touch by him and his club.

We got to our seats around 2:40 and the atmosphere was electric with a great backing for out team. We were sitting just underneath our fans. The view was good and I felt close to the the action. As a disabled fan I have been given some weird places to sit, my favourite was on the stock car track at Cowdenbeath! The toilets were ok at Thistle and nowhere is as bad as the unnamed stadium in the SPFL which just had a hole in the ground…

Although the result wasn’t what we wanted, it was a good away trip. It had a great atmosphere with some interesting songs. I was very proud of the team especially after the shock they had just received.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page